Queen of Cuts and Paper: The Artwork of Valerie Rangel

My friend Valerie Rangel, the papercut artist has opened a new exhibition. Some of her most recent works are now part of the newest exhibition with the Pop Gallery in Santa Fe, New Mexico. The exhibition is titled “POP Femme Sugar Coated Strange 2012.” Val has always created pieces which reflect that beauty is in eye of the beholder. She often creates what she likes to call “beautiful monsters,” and when images of her pieces were posted online with the gallery she sent me a message which read “my beauties have posted!!”

When I asked Val for a quote about her unique pieces she said “I feel really blessed to have found a voice through art. My hope is to use that voice to speak about obvious human fallacies and shed light on ugly truths. If my work touches people and makes them ponder my message-then I’ve accomplished more that I could have ever imaged.” Val recently had works featured at the downtown Starbucks through the City of Santa Fe Arts Commission. That exhibit was titled “Finding the Beauty Within.”

The art installations often explore what it “is to be human, and what lies behind the exterior.” I love this woman’s art and her deeper message. The POP Gallery was formerly on Water Street, but the modern art gallery is now on the corner of Marcy Street and Lincoln Avenue. The gallery is open Monday thru Saturday from 10:00am-6:00pm and Sunday from 12:00am-5:00pm. Her work is rare, beautiful and intriguing. Visit the POP Gallery to see for yourself!

If you like her work or if you would like to order a custom piece, Val can be reached at suqae@yahoo.com. Congratulations on the new exhibition Mz. Val!

Explore posts in the same categories: Art, Artists, Crafts, Creativity, Exhibits, Friends, Metaphors, New Mexico, News, Pleasure and Pain, Santa Fe, Symbols and Imagery

3 Comments on “Queen of Cuts and Paper: The Artwork of Valerie Rangel”


  1. […] Queen of Cuts and Paper: The Artwork of Valerie Rangel by Felicia Lujan […]


Leave a comment