Lust for Intellect: The Sexiest Words

image

Yesterday I wrote about going to the movies. When I walked into the theater, there was a promotional movie poster for The Best of Me. It was right next to the door for my movie. This was the very same day I had been contemplating Notebookish people, so I thought it was a coincidence. The Best of Me happens to be the newest movie based on a novel by Nicholas Sparks. I took a picture of the poster and in that moment I realized it isn’t the story lines I’m in love with, it’s the writers.

Sparks is an American novelist, who also happens to be a screenwriter and producer. The author is well known and has published close to 20 romantic novels, 8 of which were adapted to film. This included The Notebook. I think his intellect was partially fostered by his father, a professor who taught behavioral theory. In the mid 1980s Sparks graduated as the valedictorian of his class and then attended the prestigious University of Notre Dame. The part I love about him is that even though his mind was super sexy, he actually attended the university on a full paid track and field scholarship.

Most naive women believe love is a storybook. Not me. It never has been and it never will be. It is the nature of the human spirit for people to reach outward…to reach for more. We reach for the unattainable things in hope that it brings us pleasure. Though the novels by Sparks are fiction, they bleed out the color of his deepest desires. His reality likely never mirrors the words in his novels with regard to love and sex. Even though that may be true, surely his prized words and sophisticated mind have given him the opportunity to have any sexy, smart woman he desires. Sparks is an author with a romantic mind, but when do we see writers in actual practice?

On December 13, 2011, I wrote Are We Killing Intimate Expressions? I was so taken by a new book titled My Faraway One: Selected Letters of Georgia O’Keeffe and Alfred Stieglitz, that I was moved to write. O’Keeffe is a New Mexico icon who died in 1986. Stieglitz, much older than she, died in 1946. He was indeed smitten by his creative counterpart. They were both artists, lovers, friends, and maybe at times enemies who corresponded over many years. Their intimate correspondence was published by Yale University Press in association with the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library. Their correspondence is a prime example of embracing emotion. Again, it is the intricate minds of writers which I adore, not necessarily the stories themselves.

On July 29, 2014, Jennifer Schuessler wrote Racy Love Letters Unsealed, which ran in the New York Times. The real world emotions which encase sex and love are also demonstrated in the correspondence of the former 29th President of the United States, Warren G. Harding. His “steamy” love letters to his mistress were recently released after enduring a court ordered seal which spanned 50 years. President Harding died in 1923. His letters show another side of the traditional, conservative Republican. He even represented the conservative wing of the GOP and opposed progressives. The man who was known to seek out the “best minds” for his conservative cabinet also secretly practiced sexual liberty with a woman he cared deeply for.

I thought it was coincidental that the promotional poster for the new Sparks movie crossed my path Friday evening. I wouldn’t call myself a huge fan of The Notebook, but I do love the mind of Nicholas Sparks. He is an amazing writer who couldn’t find a job at one time. There is nothing more sexy than an intellectual man who knows what he wants and doesn’t decline emotion. To him, words are a turn on. Though his emotions are expressed in fictional works, they surely model what he sees in his dreams.

I am not a Notebookish woman. I understand the difference between fantasy and reality because I am an intellectual woman. As writers, we wish to be taken to a place…even if the place is not real. We bleed out the color of our deepest desires, hoping that the colors mirror our words with regard to love and sex in practice. The second I took a photo of that poster I realized that the writers captivate me. My love goes deeper than the movies. It is paired with a lust for intellect.

Explore posts in the same categories: Allusion, Artists, Authors, Body and Mind, Books, Connection, Men, Movies, Personal Glimpses, Reflection, Screenwriting, Women, Worthy Reads, Writers, Writing

One Comment on “Lust for Intellect: The Sexiest Words”


  1. […] is because I enjoy pressing words and creating art with sustenance. My recent intellectual spew~ Lust for Intellect: The Sexiest Words has been *very* popular today. I’m always amazed by how many visitors I have who aren’t […]


Leave a Reply

