My Encounter with Themistocles

image

~A Polites Themistocles butterfly in my hand today~

Tonight I was looking at historic sculptures and information about Themistocles. It is interesting to learn more about him from artists and scholars. While I was researching, I came across a web page for the Polites Themistocles. How curious that I came across this page!? Was it a sign? Probably not.

The P.Themistocles is the name given to an interesting butterfly which looks like a moth. I believe I caught and released a big one in the gym today. How strange that I learned the name of this species of butterfly the very same day I had an encounter with one? While I worked out, he continuously caught my attention which is rare. He was frantic and I moved to him.

At first…I thought it was a trapped hummingbird. It was very large and was struggling hard to break free through the screen into the light. What was this species which “favors a wide range of habitats including alpine bogs, forest glades, grassy habitats, moist meadows, savannas, and stream sides” doing in my dark gym today? I found it interesting.

Explore posts in the same categories: Allusion, Body and Mind, Connection, Disconnection, Freedom, Gym, History, Insects, Interesting Finds, Light, Mind Melt, Personal Glimpses, Positive Energies, Reflection, Signs

Leave a Reply

