Power Hour: Find A Cure or Chain Me

image

My central nervous system is so very stimulated after every workout and sometimes I think it would be best if I were chained and silenced for at least an hour after I leave the gym. It would be better if I could keep the beast quiet, hidden and calm. I love the feelings that I get after a workout, but some of them are likely better off boxed. Lifting weights gives me the illusion of the control of myself when there is none.

image

When I leave the gym, I’m like a piping hot kettle ready to implode and explode all at once. I feel super cocky, strong, tough, happy, unstoppable and sexy. My true feelings are impossible to hide. Honesty is not always what people want, though you may think otherwise. Once the power hour is up, it is way easier for me to camouflage my emotions again.

image

If I couldn’t move a muscle or type a word, or speak my mind for at least one hour…I would be good once I turned human again. Damn that oxygen to my brain, blood to my muscles and the cerebral metabolic activity of my neurotransmitters. F’u beta endorphins and dopamine and serotonin and norepinephrine and acetylcholine!! I hate loving you!!

image

A Ph.D. with the University of New Mexico (UNM) who is an author, educator, researcher and exercise scientist explains things for us in Exploring the Mysteries of Exercise. Len Kravitz (the Ph.D. not the rock star~ haha) is a smart dude out of ABQ who is taking a closer look at what a somewhat smart chick out of SF calls “Hulkish syndrome.” Wonder if smart dude actually benches? Damn it Dr.K! Find a cure or chain me!!!

image

In his paper, Dr. Kravitz says…

Currently there are several theories which try to explain how exercising the body can affect the mind. One theory states that physical training gives people a sense of mastery or control over self and their environment. This control becomes associated with a sense of well-being that enhances the self-concept, self-efficacy, reduces anxiety, and positively affects other personality variables (Greist et al., 1978) . Morgan (1980) hypothesizes that physical exercise provides a distraction or diversion for anxiety provoking cognitions. A similar hypotheses is that exercise is a form of meditation which precipitates an altered state of consciousness that may relieve depression and anxiety (Van Andel, 1986) . Folkins and Sime (1981) hypothesize that fitness training enhances a person’s ability to adapt and cope with the environment. Increases in fitness reduces the excitation of emotion-provoking stimuli by slowing autonomic responses (i.e. heart rate, blood pressure) thus decreasing somatic (pertaining to the body) “turmoil.” Although no cause and effect relationship has been found, there is a growing body of research that describes biochemical induced changes to mood following exercise. Regular physical exercise stimulates the central nervous system which increases the transport of oxygen to the brain as well as cerebral metabolic activity of various neurotransmitters including dopamine, serotonin, norepinephrine, and acetylcholine. Endurance running has also been shown to produce immediate increases in beta endorphins in the blood after training.

Explore posts in the same categories: Addiction, Albuquerque, Allusion, Authors, Beasts, Body and Mind, Comics, Energy, Fitness, Fitness Rants, Gym, Health and Fitness, Illusions, Marvel Comics, New Mexico, Obsessions, Pleasure and Pain, Reflection, Science, Scientists, She Muscle, Strength, Women, Worthy Reads

Leave a Reply

