Flightless

image

~Today we moved the final books out of the Tony Hillerman Writers Conference bookstore. While I loaded my 4runner, I noticed this tiny bird. The bird was sitting very still in the middle of the road. I think he was sick. Feeling sorry for the flightless creature, I gently moved him out of harm's way. I didn't want him to get run over, even though he was dying. I wanted him to be comfortable so I moved him to a sunny, quite spot.~


•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
“You do not have to be good. You do not have to walk on your knees for a hundred miles through the desert, repenting. You only have to let the soft animal of your body love what it loves. Tell me about despair, yours, and I will tell you mine.”
~~~~Mary Oliver

Explore posts in the same categories: Allusion, Animals, Bird and Feather Symbols, Books, Conferences, Feather Symbols, New Mexico, Personal Glimpses, Quotes, Santa Fe

Leave a Reply

