Giving: My ARMA Chapter Makes a Difference

image

••Left to Right- Lorraine, Kelly and Lynn accept a holiday donation from the Northern NM Chapter ARMA President, Cliff. The chapter also received a membership award.••

I am so proud of my Northern New Mexico Chapter of ARMA. They let me select a holiday charity recipient and I selected my friend Lynn Sanchez, the owner of Sojourner’s Advocacy Cafe in Santa Fe. My chapter gave them $500 to help those in need. For 7 years, my friend Lynn has worked to help women and children in need. She is the one person I know who is making a real difference in our community by providing a safe haven, resources, and her heart to others.

Before the presentation of the award, Lynn talked about being moved to help people in 2007. She had met a woman who was in an abusive situation and was actually living in a hole in Taos. She talked about children in need and the number of homeless people who died on the streets of Santa Fe last year. I give Lynn so much credit because she is also spearheading a movement to fight human trafficking. Lynn works actively with local law enforcement and the Attorney General’s Office in these efforts to provide further protection to women and children.

It felt good to know my chapter made a little difference…that my chapter did a good thing…that my chapter cares. During the chapter meeting, Lynn told an ARMA member that she has known me for at least 20 years. She and her husband also own Mandrill’s Gym (my home away from home) and that is where I met her long ago. Since day one, I took a liking to the sweet, knowledgeable, beautiful, woman with red hair. The same member Lynn mentioned that to told me, “it says something about you that you have been in the gym for 20 years.” Hahaaa…yeah…I guess so. That felt kinda good too.  🙂

Explore posts in the same categories: Awesomeness, Community, Connection, Friends, Giving, Gym, Holiday, Inner Beauty, Inspirational, Light, New Mexico, News, Reflection, Santa Fe, Women, Worthy Reads

Leave a Reply

