Pulling for a Bigger Back

Today I tried rack pulls for the first time on back day. I have to say that I did like the movement (thank you Sarah). I was able to pull a plate for 10 reps. I could have gone heavier, but I avoid using straps to develop my grip strength. Rack pulls are great for building strength and size. The move targets the p-chain and strengthens the hip extensors. Powerlifters use rack pulls to help develop strong deadlift lockouts and bodybuilders use the movement to encourage hypertrophy. I’ll probably start alternating deadz and rack pullz on back day.

image

Explore posts in the same categories: Addiction, Body and Mind, Dedication, Fitness, Gym, Health and Fitness, Obsessions, On the Right Track, Outer Beauty, Pleasure and Pain, Positive Energies, She Muscle, Strength, Women, Workout

4 Comments on “Pulling for a Bigger Back”


  1. You’re not using straps. Are you using a reverse grip?


  2. Reverse grip: palms facing opposite ways. On each set switch the direction to ensure balance stim. On Olympic stull pulling movements a hook grips is used in which the tip of the thumb is grabbed by the fingertips encircling the bar. A bit ouchy at first but you quickly acclimate. Hope you don’t feel I’m patronizing, just passing stuff on.

    • ~Felicia~ Says:

      Naw…patronizing? Never. I know about the grip, but I haven’t had to use it yet I guess?! Now that my weight is going up, I’m going to have to. I didn’t know about switching the direction for balance, but that makes total sense. Thanks! Imma try the grip on Sunday when I dead. ~~F


Leave a Reply

