Something Magic

image

••My son was out there somewhere~ at his 1st dance!••

There is something magic about music. It makes the body and the mind react in ways that are somehow inexplicable. You just have to feel it sometimes. I can’t really remember a time in my life when music wasn’t there. This story isn’t about me though. This story is about my son, the secretly talented dancer.

On Monday of this week, my son brought home a 3×5 mini flyer with two hearts on it. The sweet little flyer was an invitation to the Valentine’s Dance. I noticed it read “4th thru 6th grade only,” and I immediately thought… “Omg! My son’s first dance.” In that moment on Monday night, I decided I would make sure he went.

image

After we ate dinner, I questioned him about the dance. I said “you going?” He quickly responded with a “no.” I said “but why? You’re good at dancing!” I know he is because we dance all the time. As a matter of fact, he and I had a dance off on New Year’s Eve and he won! D didn’t say yes that night, but he did say “it’s a glow in the dark dance,” which seemed to intrigue him.

On Thursday morning I woke him up for school with a “get up baby! Today is your dance!!” He stayed very quiet and shuffled about in our regular morning routine. The dance started right when I arrived home from work. He was already playing “Clash of Clans.” When I walked in I said, “comb your hair. Put on some cologne. It’s time to go!” There was silence.

Being that we love to dance, I insisted that he go. I laid down by him and we argued back and forth. I said, “commmme on! It will be fun!!” He shook his head. “I don’t want to. It will be dumb. None of my friend are going,” he said, “plus…nobody invited me!” I couldn’t believe he would pass it up? Finally, after 10 straight minutes of arguing, I used my bargaining skills to convince him.

On the way to the school he was silent as a mouse. I’m positive he was thinking “what the heck did I let my mom get me into!?” He didn’t make one peep on the 15 minute drive. We pulled into the parking lot and parked. There were three cars and he seemed relieved because he thought we would leave. I said “baby…it’s not in the gym. The lights are on and you said it was glow in the dark.” Hum? “It must be in the cafeteria,” he murmured softly. 

We drove around to the other side of the campus. Ahhhhaaa! There were all the cars! At that point he was so nervous he could have jumped out of his skin. Opening the front doors to the building, we both heard the faint sound of bass. As we got closer to the glass entrance of the cafeteria, the music grew louder and the lights were flashing brilliantly. His mouth seemed to drop in awe.

I don’t think I’ve ever seen my son so amazed. There was a smoke machine, strobe lights, spot lights, colored lights, glowing balloons, glow sticks, and the DJ was actually playing songs we all liked! The bleak cafeteria was transformed into a twilight zone. The sound of heavy bass and a sea of screaming kids with glow sticks made him feel right at home. Before he ran off into the crowd, I yelled “told you!!”

About 1/2 hour into being there I just had to tease him because he was clearly having a blast. I sarcastically yelled over a hawt Jason DeRulo song “are you ready to go now?” I’m sure you know he gave me a firm no on that one! As it turned out most of his friends and all the boys from his basketball team were there. He fit right in!

The last song of the night drew everyone (including parents) onto the floor. We did the cupid shuffle and laughed a bunch! I told my boy, “yo momma got it still!” On the drive home we talked. He explained how he never thought it would be so much fun. I guess that made me happy that I twisted his arm to go. I always loved dances when I was young and was actually the drill team captain in high school.

Thursday night may go down as one of my best nights in my history of parenting. It was a win for both D and I. As a parent, I convinced my son to venture out of his little box and he enjoyed it. Extra curricular activities are extremely important to education because they inspire children to grow mentally in unconventional ways.

Before D went to sleep, I kissed him on the cheek and smiled at him. I whispered, “always trust your mother! There is something magic about music.”

Explore posts in the same categories: Awesomeness, Children, Memories, Music, Personal Glimpses, Reflection, Short Stories, Worthy Reads, Writers, Writing

One Comment on “Something Magic”

  1. denise Says:

    Awesome! Great story!! Thanks for sharing@@


Leave a Reply

