Overheard in tha Gym

image

•Overheard in tha Gym (Mandrill's Gym in Santa Fe, New Mexico)•

I always hate to listen to the sounds of the gym. Not even clanking iron drives enough encouragement for me to listen to conversations about break-ups, overeating, fishing tackle and pointless training tips. My headphones are on 99% of the time and I literally can’t hear a thing when they are on. A lot of people go to the gym to talk. Those are the ones who demonstrate the fitness disease specifically referred to as “No Gainz.”

I leave my headphones on blast because who wants to hear tired songs on the radio? I don’t want to hear men grunting to push a sorry plate or kill my endorphin rush listening to endless chatter boxes. There really is a time and place for socializing and well… the squat rack isn’t it. Even though all this talking people do makes me crazy, I gotta love it when I do happen to over hear something good. There are those times when I have to change to a new song, and sometimes I actually hear what is going on around me.

image

♥♥NICOLE CAPURSO♥♥

Today two guys were chatting it up for like a half hour instead of lifting weights. They were basically in the way. I had to love the apparent last words between the two though. It made me wonder what conversation I missed while For Whom the Bell Tolls was blaring in my ears. One guy told the other… “It is really hard to find a chick who gets into this shit.” Well~ of course he meant lifting weights silly!! Poor dude.

Yup… We are hard to find. If you do find a chick who lifts, maybe you should know what you’re in for and then please stop talking!!! Read this post by Hannah Bass on BuzzFeed… 21 Secrets Girls Who Lift Won’t Tell You: Do you even lift, bro?

Explore posts in the same categories: Addiction, Athletes, Awesomeness, Bad Ass, Body and Mind, Dedication, Fitness, Fitness Rants, Gym, Health and Fitness, New Mexico, On the Right Track, Personal Glimpses, Pleasure and Pain, Positive Energies, Reflection, Santa Fe, Sarcasm, She Muscle, Strength, Women, Workout, Worthy Reads

One Comment on “Overheard in tha Gym”


Leave a Reply

