Shit Just Got Real

image

•Meme by Felicia•

I have been working really hard in the gym. Some may say… Why bother if you never plan on competing? I guess it crosses my mind sometimes, but I always tell myself I’m just doing it for me and that I probably don’t have what it really takes to get there. I think stories like the one I’m about to share confirm that others who have seen me in action in the gym may feel like I could at least try.

I know I could work toward competition if I wanted to. I have the heart and mind to do it. I guess I’ve just never wanted it bad enough. Honestly, I’ve thought more about powerlifting competitions than bikini competitions, which wins zero points with the men… but it does confirm that I am doing this for me. Both types of competitions take dedication, which I undoubtedly have.

I guess my main goal has always been to be super strong and fearless with the iron. My goal has been simple. I want to shock people with strength and power rather than turn heads in a thong and heels. I am a weird woman it seems, but I’m being honest with myself. After all these years, I can say that I have met that goal. I constantly strive for improvement even though there is only so much my body can physically take.

So now my story… A few days ago in the gym, I was tapped by a man who isn’t from New Mexico but lives here now. We have been training simultaneously for months. He told me he wanted to show me a picture of his daughter. She had just taken 1st place in a national competition. We discussed competing and I told him “nawww, I’m old to compete.” Turned out his daughter is just three years younger than I. Keep in mind he looks good for his age so I was shocked to learn he had a daughter my age (working out is the true fountain of youth).

I had a longer than usual chat with he and a former female professional bodybuilder who chimed in and then I went back to work. My cogs were spinning while I hit it and I felt like he was telling me something. Before I left the gym. I told him I would write about it. I took his sharing of his daughter’s photo with me as a compliment. I promised I would not share his name or profession online for security reasons, but I will say he has a *very* important job and I highly respect his opinion because he knows first hand about putting in work!

This was a pic of a sticker I loved on the vehicle of “Mr. Forged” a while back. What were my last words to “Mr. Forged?” I told him “you basically told me to grab my balls today. I like that!” He seemed shocked that I said that then he laughed. I said “yeah… I have some.” It is great when people see something in me that maybe I don’t even see in myself.

He thought I planned to compete someday. I don’t plan on it, but it feels good to think that people think I could if I wanted to. Couldn’t help but think… shit just got real. What he sees in me is heart, sweat, and tears.

Explore posts in the same categories: Addiction, Awesomeness, Bad Ass, Body and Mind, Competition, Dedication, Fitness, Gym, Health and Fitness, Inspirational, Meme, Mind Melt, Obsessions, On the Right Track, Personal Glimpses, Reflection, She Muscle, Strength, Women, Workout

One Comment on “Shit Just Got Real”


  1. […] shredded black man ripping off his shirt to “show them what abs really look like,” to a high ranking military man calling the visit “a freak show,” to another saying it was “all straight […]


Leave a Reply

