Trash-Talking Myself Works

You can find all kinds of articles online that will tell you that shit talking yourself is a horrible thing to do. The headlines read… “Need a Healthy-Attitude Adjustment? Stop Trash-talking Yourself” and “Eliminate Trash Talk for Greater Success.” They also say that “Trashing Trash Talk” will “Foster a Positive Self Image.” Do I believe that? I guess it may depend on who you are and what you’re doing?

image

For me, in the gym, I’ve discovered that talking shit to myself works. Last week, I conquered one of the biggest things holding me back in the gym using trash as a weapon. I’ve been having problems with the ligaments in my left ankle for a while now. I had this unrealistic fear that I just couldn’t squat anymore. I guess I thought my ankle would just up and give out and I’d take a dirt nap in front of everyone? Hey… That could still happen, but I got through that fear. 

One of the many things I love about lifting is that it makes your mind strong. Last week while I was leg pressing, I kept looking at the squat rack. I told myself “you’re seriously a fuckin’ joke! What’s wrong with you, you idiot!? You bench and deadlift. You’re leg pressing almost 500 lbs every week and your worried that squatting a measly 135 will snap you ankle? Really?? You’re a serious fuckin’ wimp. Get it together and get your ass back in the rack!!”

I got super pissed off at myself, walked my ass straight over to the rack and followed through. On my first set, I realized how silly I had been about my damn ankle. The squats felt good and light. I’ve been strengthening my ankle with exercises too. I also realized that this means I completed the trifecta of fitness (yes trifecta… Because it’s all about winning and getting these lifts down in the right order). I felt really proud of myself and super powerful that day.

Most women will only squat. Not me. Maybe I was meant to master the bench and deadlift first like the manly woman that I am. I want to be a well rounded lifter. The only way to do that is to not fear any lift and if need be, talk some mean ass shit to myself to get me through.

Explore posts in the same categories: Addiction, Awesomeness, Bad Ass, Body and Mind, Dedication, Fitness, Fitness Rants, Gym, Health and Fitness, Inspirational, Light, Meme, Obsessions, On the Right Track, Personal Glimpses, Pleasure and Pain, Positive Energies, Reflection, She Muscle, Strength, Women, Workout, Worthy Reads, Writers, Writing

One Comment on “Trash-Talking Myself Works”


Leave a Reply

