Refill the Tank

I’ve been eating my daily vitamins and a dried fruit strip to kick start glycogen restoration immediately following my workout. These are all vegan and have no gelatin. I’m also drinking 1/2 cup of oatmeal in my post workout protein shake… packing more glycogen into my muscle cells.

I actually created this composite the day after I got my Halloween stilettos, but I must say… this set done at my old shop looks way better so I pasted a new photo over the old one. And yes… I’m able to deadlift like a mofo with these nails bitcheeez.

“Glycogen is a chain of glucose molecules that your muscles and liver use to store energy for immediate future use. Your body contains a glycogen reserves of between 450 and 550 grams. If you exercise intensely, you may require more than 500 grams of carbs to restore your body’s glycogen reserves. Glycogen is almost completely exhausted after intense exercise exceeding 60 minutes; a 90-minute run will deplete glycogen reserves. Where loss of muscle glycogen lowers the functionality of muscles, loss of liver glycogen leads to a lowering of blood sugar, lethargy and inhibition of thyroid hormone release, and thus reduced fat burning. It is critical to restore glycogen reserves in the 24 hours following exercise. The first two hours are especially important. Dr. John Berardi, a professional nutritionist, recommends consuming 50 to 60 grams of high glycemic index carbohydrates in the two hours following exercise.”

Explore posts in the same categories: Addiction, Body, Dedication, Energy, Fitness, Goals, Gym, Health and Fitness, On the Right Track, Organics, She Muscle, Strength, Workout

Leave a Reply

