Guard Well Your Treasure

“Guard well within yourself that treasure, kindness. Know how to give without hesitation, how to lose without regret, how to acquire without meanness.”
•~~George Sand

Tonight we took my son and his friend to eat at Taco Bell, before hitting Whole Foods. While the two boys ate, a young lady who worked at Taco Bell sat near us in the corner. She was sitting quietly eating a burrito on her break.

Once the boys were done eating, we all got up to head out. When I turned around toward the door, I noticed another young woman behind me. She had come in from the rainy, dark night while my back was to her.

As I passed by, I looked at her life strewn across two tables. She had laid out a brush, lotion, a book, and several other things. What got me, was the packet of Ramen noodles because I was sure she had no home to go to. I thought… “does she even have a pot to cook those in?”

She was wet and looked tired from carrying a huge, old backpack. I’d say she was 100 pounds. She didn’t even notice me because she was stuffing herself with what I assumed was Halloween candy. Walking out to the car, I asked my son “did she even eat?” I didn’t know since my back was to her. He said “no… she didn’t.”

I turned right around and walked back in. When I approached her she looked worried… like I was going to tell her to leave. I asked her if she wanted food and she got a huge smile and said “yes! Please! Can I get a chalupa?” I laughed and said “of course, get whatever you want girl.” She got “a meal” too.

While the young girl who worked at Taco Bell rang it up, the other girl asked me what my name was. I told her and asked her hers. She thanked me and shook my hand with a smile. I told her “be careful out there girl. It is dangerous and it’s getting cold.”

I feel good about doing nice things for people, especially those in need. What made me feel even better is what happened after that. When the young girl working at Taco Bell gave me my card back, she said “can you give me a moment?” I said “sure,” but was thinking… “I thought she gave me my receipt?”

She disappeared then came back with a bag. I said “what’s this? I didn’t order anything else?” She had given me a free bag with dessert and told me “that was really sweet of you. This is for you.” I thought that was cute. I guess you never know who’s heart you’re touching with a good deed.

Explore posts in the same categories: Food, Giving, Inner Beauty, Light, New Mexico, Personal Glimpses, Positive Energies, Reflection, Santa Fe, Short Stories, Women, Worthy Reads, Writers, Writing

Leave a Reply

